Album Review: The Modern Age Slavery – Stygian (Innerstrength Records)

Stygian is the new album from Italian Death Metal/Deathcore stalwarts The Modern Age Slavery. The album will be released November 24th 2017 via Innerstrength Records.

Stygian 1

8 tracks (and 1 cover) of uncompromising heaviness layered with nasty riffs & a groove that puts its hand on your head & turns your attention towards The Modern Age Slavery.

The no-nonsense approach to laying out metal aggression with exciting rhythm is spread out for all to see with the intense The Reprisal With & Miles Apart. Both delivering crushing heaviness built around blazing riffs, explosive drumming & ferocious guttural vocals.

There is little in the way of melody. The Theory Of Shadows drops a little in but it’s just a prelude to a blasting breakdown. Not that it’s a problem. This isn’t an album that needs melody, it just needs to bring its ‘A’ game of bloodied metal & smash-mouth breakdowns, something it manages well.

The Modern Age Of Slavery keep things short with the album coming in at 33 minutes. A smart move as there is only so much a listener can take of the constant sonic abuse. Although credit to the band for making each track have just enough differences to keep the attention focused.

The Stygian Tide is a more structured effort before The Hollow Men goes wild with a devilishly heavy & messy sounding track. It might be all over the place but it’s still a seriously addictive listen. The best is saved for last though as Regression Through Unlearning attempts to unscrew your skull with its bare hands. Unaffected by your pleas for mercy, it delivers brutalising riffs with some of the most hate-filled vocals of the entire album.

As a nice finale, The Modern Age Slavery add the cherry to the top of their cake with a cover of one of the lesser known Pantera tracks, Sandblasted Skin. A track that is a firm favourite of the more hardcore Pantera fan & The Modern Age Slavery certainly do it justice. Every bit a tribute as you would expect, it’s a satisfying finish to a strong & exciting slice of heavy groove metal.

Stygian 2

The Modern Age Slavery – Stygian Full Track Listing:

1. Prelude to an Evolution
2. The Reprisal Within
3. Miles Apart
4. The Theory Of Shadows
5. The Place We Call Home
6. A Stygian Tide
7. The Hollow Men
8. Regression Through Unlearning
9. Sandblasted Skin (Pantera Cover)

You can order the album now via Innerstrength Records here & merchandise/earlier music via the band’s webstore. You can keep up to date with news via The Modern Age Slavery’s Facebook Page & on Twitter. Check out some of their videos on YouTube too.

The Modern Age Slavery - Stygian (Innerstrength Records)
  • 8.5/10
    The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.